Professor Li He,  FASME, FRAeS

Li He earned BSc & MSc at Beihang University (1982, 1984), and PhD at Cambridge University (1990). He remained at Cambridge as a postdoc and a college research fellow until 1993. He had spent 15 years in Durham University as Lecturer (1993), Reader (1998) and Professor (2000). At Durham, he had become Head of Thermo-fluids and later Director of Research for School of Engineering, before taking up the Rolls-Royce/Royal Academy Engineering Chair at Oxford in  2008.  

Having held the Chair (Statutory Professor) of Computational Aerothermal Engineering at Oxford University, Li He is also the Oxford co-director of the EPSRC Centre of Doctoral Training (CDT) in Gas Turbine Aerodynamics. He had been the head of the Osney Laboratory (2008-2011), and the acting director of the Rolls-Royce University Technology Centre (UTC) in heat transfer and aerodynamics (2008-2010). Under He’s headship, the Osney Lab had undertaken a major (18 months) upgrading relocation and acquired the 2nd generation transonic turbine test facility. The new Osney Lab (with the number of academics doubled during his headship) has been the centre of reinvigorated turbomachinery research at Oxford (known as ‘Oxford Thermo-fluids Institute’ since 2018).   

Li He’s research interests are in unsteady aerodynamic, aeroelastic and aerothermal prediction and optimization method development for turbomachinery in general. In particular, He is widely recognised for proposing and developing the Fourier approach for turbomachinery flows in 1990s, the first of the kind evolving over the past 20 years or so into a now active research topic area.   

He has more than 100 refereed journal publications and 10 patents (as the lead applicant) filed in UK, Europe and US on turbine aerothermal applications. He was the recipient of the ASME Gas Turbine Heat Transfer best paper award twice (2009, 2017), the Turbomachinery best paper award (2015), the Steam Turbine best paper award (2017), and a recipient of the 2017 Global Power and Propulsion Society best paper prize. Li He was also a recipient of the inventor awards from a major company for proposing novel configurations in the corresponding filed patents. He has been an invited keynote and plenary lecturer in a number of international conferences, also in the VKI lecture series on turbomachinery unsteady flow and aeroelasticity and in the NATO lecture series on gas turbine design optimization. He has been an associate editor for the Aeronautical Journal (2012-), ASME Journal of Turbomachinery (2012-2019) and Journal of Global Power and Propulsion Society (2016-2019). He was a special issue guest editor for Journal of Turbomachinery (2018-2019) and for the International Journal of Computational Fluid Dynamics (2012-2013). He served as the review chair for the GPPS technical conference in Shanghai (2017), and the conference chair of the 15th International Symposium of Unsteady Aerodynamics, Aeroelasticity and Aeroacoustics in Turbomachinery (ISUAAAT15).

Professor He was elected to Fellow of ASME in 2006, and Fellow of Royal Aeronautical Society in 2011.

Our location

With team members spread across the globe, the core team is based in Zurich Switzerland.


Landis + Gyr-Strasse 1, 6300 Zug